Race Officers


 > Race Admin Home > Race Officers > St. Petersburg Trophy

St. Petersburg Trophy

 2013 Program




2012 St. Petersburg Trophy Winner:

Corinthian Sailing Club, Dallas. TX
2011 Championship of Champions Regatta

Emblematic of excellence in race management, the St. Petersburg Yacht Club Trophy was awarded originally by St. Petersburg Yacht Club in the late 1960s to recognize the club which ran the best regatta. The trophy was retired for several years, then was donated to US Sailing in 1977. The winner is selected on the basis of race management superiority and evaluation by participating skippers.

Note: Qualifying an event for consideration requires some pre-planning. Information about the steps required are provided below.


1967  Royal Canadian Yacht Club 1993  Windycrest Sailing Club
1968  Alamitos Bay Yacht Club 1994  Eastern Yacht Club
1969  Long Beach Yacht Club 1995  Cleveland Yachting Club
1978  Little Egg Harbor Yacht Club 1996  California Yacht Club
1979  Island Bay Yacht Club 1997  Fort Worth Boat Club
1980  Long Beach Yacht Club 1998  Cedar Point Yacht Club
1981  Alamitos Bay Yacht Club 1999  Lake Norman Yacht Club  Adobe
1982  Beverly Yacht Club 2000  Beverly Yacht Club  Adobe
1983  Waikiki Yacht Club 2001  Richmond (California) Yacht Club  Adobe
1984  Houston Yacht Club 2002   California Yacht Club  Adobe
1985  Long Beach Yacht Club 2003  Not Awarded
1986  Corinthian Sailing Club 2004  Indian Harbor and Riverside Yacht Clubs Adobe
1987  Bayview Yacht Club 2005   California Yacht Club    Adobe
1988  San Diego Yacht Club 2006   Corpus Christi Yacht Club
1989  Rochester Yacht Club 2007   St. Petersburg Yacht Club
1990  Houston Yacht Club 2008  Southwestern Yacht Club
1991  Little Egg Harbor Yacht Club 2009  Carolina Yacht Club of North Carolina
1992  Beverly Yacht Club 2010   Rochester Yacht Club
  2011  Annapolis Yacht Club

Administrative Information: The regatta may have any number of yachts entered; consist of at least three closed-course races, and have nonprofessional race management. For all events run after January 1, 2010 the principal race officer and chief judge must be certified at any level in race management or judging from US Sailing, another MNA or ISAF. The 2013 award will be for events conducted between September 1, 2012 and August 31, 2013. Regattas held after August 31, 2012 will be entered in 2013. The host club must comply with the application requirements including postmarking the Club Entry Form, no later than September 7, 2013. Up to two entries a year per yacht club will be considered.

Skipper's Ballot: The Skipper's Ballot can be reproduced and given to each skipper with an envelope to be returned (sealed) to a club representative after the racing is completed. Ballots should not be returned directly to US Sailing by skippers. Although the completed ballots are to be unsigned, the club may use a checklist of skippers' names to record ballots returned, to facilitate collecting as many completed ballots as possible. No financial inducements are permitted to encourage completion of the skipper's ballots or other forms. A minimum of 60% or 40 completed ballots (whichever is fewer), must be returned. Comments on the enclosed form will be reviewed to help interpret skippers' responses, but will not be counted in the final tally.

Report of the Protest Committee Chairman: The Protest Committee Chairman's report of the event must be filled out and returned to US Sailing as part of the package.

Report of the Principal Race Officer: The Principal Race Officer's report for the event must be filled out and the required documents returned to US Sailing.

Closing Date: Other than the required forms, application to US Sailing in advance of the regatta is not required. To be judged in the current year's competition, the following must be returned to US Sailing postmarked no later than September 7, 2013:

1. Completed Skippers' Ballots.

2. Completed Report of the Protest Committee Chairman.

3. Completed Report of the Principal Race Officer

4. Complete copy of the Notice of Regatta.

5. Complete copy of the Sailing Instructions with Amendments.

6. Complete list of Regatta Results.

Send the above enclosures with "St. Petersburg Yacht Club Trophy Competition" marked on the envelope to: US Sailing, St. Petersburg Yacht Club Trophy, 15 Maritime Drive, Portsmouth, Rhode Island 02871.

Entries will be judged by a review group of the US Sailing Race Management Committee and the trophy presented at the US Sailing Annual General Meeting.

Forms for St. Petersburg Trophy